4th District History



Bro. Darryl D. Moore, Sr.- Chairman

4th District History & Archive

The history of the Fourth District represents the evolution of two organizational concepts now embodied in the present-day functions of the District Representative and District Meeting.

The first District Representatives were appointed by the Grand Basileus who was authorized by a constitutional amendment in 1922. The District Representatives were delegated the function of assisting the Grand Chapter in the supervision of chapters within a geographical area known as a District.

Ohio and West Virginia’s journey over the past 90 years to what is now known as the Fourth District has not been a straight path. In 1920, Grand Basileus Raymond G. Robinson added Kappa Chapter at West Virginia Institute (now West Virginia State University).  Then during the first year of Grand Basileus Alston Atkins’ administration in 1922 the name Kappa, which had been the designation of the Chapter at West Virginia Institute, became the name of a chapter organized at Syracuse University. The Chapter at West Virginia State was then given a new charter as Theta Psi.

The history of the Fourth District in Ohio dates back to 1919, the year the Grand Chapter took steps to establish a chapter in Cleveland.  Grand Basileus Raymond G. Robinson, spent some time in the Forest City hopelessly seeking men possessing the desired Omega ideals. The story of this unsuccessful venture, however, offered a challenge to a young newcomer to Cleveland, Nathaniel B. Bowen, then a brother and student at Morehouse College. Between school semesters Bowen renewed the search and in collaboration with Ted Hendricks, a brother, and several other migrant brothers, a qualified group was ready for a charter in 1923, the first in Ohio. The new chapter was designated Zeta Omega.  Charter members were: P. H. White, Estes Gunn, John McMorriess, Fred Roseboro, Julius Thomas, J. E. Edwards, Nathaniel Bowen, Elmer Whiting, William T. White, A. J. Thomas, and Henry Moon.  Later that year, Upsilon was chartered at Wilberforce University.

In 1923 under the leadership of Brother Nathaniel Bowen the two states were joined together with Western Pennsylvania and known as the Ninth District.  Over the next 23 years the two states separated and aligned with other states in various Districts. Over the years, the two states have traveled through the Third, Fourth, Fifth, Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh Districts. Changes occurred in the mid 30’s when Brother James H. Roland was elected DR of the Eleventh District in 1940, which consisted of both; Ohio and West Virginia.

The first Fourth District Meeting under the constitutional mandate was held in Columbus, Ohio, in 1941 on the campus of Ohio State University.  Nine chapters were eligible to participate in this first District Meeting. This development represents an inspiring story in Omega history.

Under the leadership of District Representative E. A. Bolling in 1946 Ohio and West Virginia officially became known as the Fourth District.  The leadership of District Representative Bolling was instrumental in expanding the number of chapters that are now a part of the Fourth District, and leading the District’s adoption of the Social Action Program.

Grand Conclaves: 25th in Cleveland, Ohio 1937; 34th in Columbus, Ohio in 1948 (the first time the 4th District, as we are known today hosted); 39th in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1953; 44th in Cleveland, Ohio in 1958; 68th in Cleveland, Ohio in 1994.  Lastly, Cincinnati is the host of the 2017 Leadership Conference.

4th District Representatives


Bro. A. P. Hamblin (WV & OH -11th District) 1937-1939
  1. Bro. James Henry Rowland (11th & 4th District) 1939-1940
  2. Bro. Leonard L. Holland 1957-1960
  3. Bro. William J. Moore 1961-1965
  4. Bro. Clark E. Beck 1965-1968
  5. Bro. Robert Thomas 1968
  6. Bro. Dr. John L. Fuller 1970
  7. Bro. Dr. Floydelh Anderson 1970-1972
  8. Bro. William L. Hunter 1972-1975
  9. Bro. Dr. R. Charles Byers 1975-1978
10. Bro. Richard Jenkins 1978-1980
11. Bro. Dr. Frank C. Williams 1980-1984
12. Bro. Kenneth Wilson 1985-1987
13. Bro. Jarrett A. Thomas 1987-1990
14. Bro. Raymond Tillery, Sr 1990-1992
15. Bro. Malvin Jones 1992-1994
16. Bro. Henry W. Glaspie, Jr 1994-1996
17. Bro. Mel K. McCray 1996-1997
18. Bro. Christopher M. Cooper 1997-1999
19. Bro. Al Jordan 1999-2001
20. Bro. Dr. Gregory Epps 2001-2003
21. Bro. William Comeaux 2003-2005
22. Bro. Jessie J. Junius 2005-2007
23. Bro. Dewey Ortiz, Sr 2007-2009
24. Bro. Rufus Heard 2009-2011
25. Bro. Stanford T. Williams, Jr. 2011-2013
26. Bro. Christopher K. Welch 2013-2015
27. Bro. Daryl S. Cameron 2015-Present

Distinguished Brothers from the 4th District

Ronald B. Adrine – Municipal Court Judge
Russell Adrine – Attorney, Political Activist in Cleveland, OH
Douglas Anderson – Former Registrar at West Virginia State, Scholarship named in his honor
Dr. Samuel Baskerville – Successful dentist, Scholarship named in his honor
Horace Belmear – Former Educator at WVU, endowed scholarship in his honor
James Andrew Elam – President, Belmont Park Laboratories, Philanthropist
Hal Greer – Former NBA Basketball Player-Philadelphia 76ers
Adolph Hamblin – Former Professor at West Virginia State, Science building named in his honor
Charles P. Lucas, Sr. – Former Regional Director of HUD
Dr. James Russell – Former President St. Paul’s College, Former Interim President West Virginia State
Sam Shepard – Former Editor of the Oracle
Franklin Spurill – Attorney, Past Grand Counselor
O. Walker – Founder of Call-In Post (Black Newspaper)
Charles White – Judge of Common Pleas Court
Bayard Rustin – Civil Rights Activist, Architect of the 1963 March on
Washington and developer of the “Freedom Rides”
Dr. R. Charles Byers – Provost Emeritus West Virginia State University
Col. George “Spanky” Roberts – Tuskegee Airman 1st Graduating Class
MG Charles C. Rogers – Congressional Medal of Honor
Herb Washington – Former Major League Baseball Player-Oakland A’s
Steven Perry – Former Executive Director of Pro Football Hall of Fame
Ted Childs – Former VP of IBM Global Workforce Diversity, Featured in The HistoryMakers
Ozzie Newsome – Former NFL Football Player-Cleveland Browns, NFL General Manager
Carter G. Woodson – Father of Black History, Former Dean of Liberal Arts at West Virginia State
Jesse Heslip – 1st Basileus of the War Chapter
George Whitehead – Civil Rights Attorney

Shopping Cart

There are no items in your cart.

Continue Shopping